To:  Conservation Commission Members           cc: Selectboard and Public Notice


From:  Larry T. Spencer, Chair


RE: Minutes of the Commission Meeting held 16 June 2004. Note that the meeting began at 6:30 at the Swainey Brook Primewetland. Park just off the Route 3 (at the intersection of East Holderness Road). Making the on site visit were:  Mike Barney, Reggie Pettit, Jacque Jewell, Larry Spencer and Barbara Currier. The Chair described to the other members the details of the prime wetland and the conservation easement. Chair show the commission the letter he planned to send the Adie’s, the owners of the property.


Date:  21 June 2004


Agenda Items

  1. Approval of May meeting minutes—approved as distributed
  2. Gravel pit matters
    1. Outcome of the ZBA meeting held 9 June 2004—meeting will be continued on the 13th of July. Jacque presented our memo to the ZBA. That memo was amended to change the information about the distance from the wetland edge and information was added about the angles of the gravel pit edges. Barbara brought up the question about the changes in the document after approval of original at last meeting.  Jacque apologized about the changes, but indicated that she was unable to get back to commission members before submitting document to the ZBA. It was moved by Reggie and seconded by Anne, that Commission retroactively approved the changes. After a briefly discussion where questions were brought up about the idea of the 75 foot distance were brought up by Mike, the commission voted 6-0 in favor of the motion. The commission members informally agreed that it was better to extend the buffer distance rather than to simply go along with the 25 ft distance of DES.
    2. Memo from Earl Hansen in response to our letter about restoration of the old gravel pit—It seems like early evenings on Wednesday will be the best time.  Chair will contact Earl about this.
  3. Permits and other matters (TBD—to be determined by visit to mail box)—there was nothing in the mail box.
  4. Matters from the last meeting
    1. Possible meetings with Roger LaRochelle on conservation easements—Chair has contacted some local folk. It looks like an end of the summer will be better for a joint meeting of Roger and the chair and these folk. It was brought up that Alex has bought the property above the Pilote property. Chair will contact him about a meeting.
    2. Items for the NHACC newsletter—Anne has been extremely busy, but will still write up some news items.
    3. Visit to cut—Jacque, Anne and Mike tried to find the cut on the Webster Property and were unable to do so. Barbara suggested that Jacque contact Dee about this matter as it is Dee’s responsibility to record the requests to cut.
  5. Spring-summer schedule of meetings, events and jobs:
    1. Lakes Region Planning Commission Annual Meeting—meeting time was mentioned.  No one indicated an interest in attending
  6. New Business
    1. Discussion of Swainey Brook Prime Wetland (see above). Decision as to which wetland to visit next—It was decided to visit the Bennett Brook Wetland in September (the 15th of September)
    2. Meeting at Town Hall for LRPC maps—The meeting will be held on the 8th of July from 6:30 to 8:30 pm.  Reggie, Mike and the Chair agreed to attend for the commission.
    3. The commission members viewed the map supplied by LRPC on Local Resource Protection Priorities. A number of places were added and expanded list will be sent by Chair to LRPC (and to Master Plan Committee).
  7. Other Business
    1. Mike mentioned that it would be helpful if a list of names, addresses, phone numbers and e-mail addresses can be distributed to the commission members. Chair will work on that this summer.
    2. Change in summer schedule for contacts
      1. Jacque will be available for the period of 9 to 16 August



CC members in attendance



Mike Barney, Jacque Jewell, Reggie Pettit, Anne Packard, Larry Spencer and Barbara Currier, Selectperson


2004 Holderness Conservation Commission Members:  Mike Barney, Reggie Pettit, Anne Packard, Jacque Jewell, Larry Spencer, Chair, Barbara Currier, Selectperson